The Reese Report
The Sunday afternoon podcast with Greg Reese
Oh Death
99
0:00
-1:01:56

Oh Death

The Sunday afternoon podcast with Greg Reese
99

Oh death, oh death, won’t you spare me over til another year?

What is this that I can’t see - with ice-cold hands taking hold of me.

I am death none can excel - I’ll open the door to heaven or hell.

Oh death, oh death, won’t you spare me over til another year?

Whoa death someone would pray - could you wait to call me another day?

The children pray the preacher preached - time and mercy is out of your reach.

I’ll fix your feet til you can’t walk - I’ll lock your jaw til you can’t talk.

I’ll close your eyes so you can’t see - this very hour come and go with me.

Oh death, oh death, won’t you spare me over til another year?

In death I come to take the soul - leave the body and leave it cold.

To drop the flesh off of the frame - the earth and worms both have a claim.

Oh death, oh death, won’t you spare me over til another year?

99 Comments